Liquor referendum passes in South Fulton

November 09, 2022

With unofficial results tabulated in Obion County as of 8:13 p.m. Nov. 8, 7874 voters across the county cast ballots on Tuesday.

Unofficial results posted showed in South Fulton, the Nov. 8 ballot reflected 353 voters in the city were in favor of legal sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises in the city, and 194 people voted against the sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.

South Fulton Commissioners Billy Williams and Tommy Pruett were re-elected to serve Ward 2 and Ward 3 in the city, respectively. Williams received 130 votes and Pruett, 90. In Ward 3, write-in candidate Mary Katherine Stem received 1 vote and write-in candidate Thomas Andrew Pettigrew II received 3 votes.

As of 8:13 p.m., the unofficial results showed Republican Gov. Bill Lee was the choice for Obion County voters with 6417 votes. Democrat Jason Brantley Martin received 1173 votes across the county, Independents Constance M. Every received 50, John Gentry, 84, Basil Marceaux, 3, Charles Van Morgan, 16, Alfred O'Neil, 12, Deborah Rouse, 4, Michael E. Scantland, 1, and Rick Tyler, 4. Across the state, Gov. Lee received 802,310; Martin, 371,984; Every, 6390; Gentry, 10,253; Rouse, 2548; Tyler, 1752; Van Morgan, 1364; Marceaux, 1052; O'Neil, 892; and Scantland,604.

For U.S. House of Representatives, District 8, Obion County chose David Kustoff, Republican, with 6475 votes and Democrat Lynnette P. Williams received 1125 votes across the county. James Hart and Ronnie Henley, both Independents received 68 and 26 votes, respectively. Kustoff received a total of 123,370 votes from the District, Williams, 39,573, Hart, 1860 and Henley, 860.

Rusty Grills, a Republican, received 4701 votes in the county, for Tennessee House of Representatives for District 77. Grills received a total of 12,785 votes across Dyer County, Lake County and parts of Obion County.

Chris Hurt, Republican, received 1871 county votes for Tennessee House of Representatives, District 82. Hurt received a total of 9822 votes across Crockett County, Lauderdale County, Gibson County and parts of Obion County.